THIS is obedience?

Even if the Pope were Satan incarnate, we ought not to raise up our heads against him, but calmly lie down to rest on his bosom. He who rebels against our Father is condemned to death, for that which we do to him we do to Christ: we honor Christ if we honor the Pope; we dishonor Christ if we dishonor the Pope. I know very well that many defend themselves by boasting: “They are so corrupt, and work all manner of evil!”  But God has commanded that, even if the priests, the pastors, and Christ-on-earth were incarnate devils, we be obedient and subject to them, not for their sakes, but for the sake of God, and out of obedience to Him.” – St. Catherine of Siena, SCS, p. 201-202, p. 222, (quoted in Apostolic Digest, by Michael Malone, Book 5: “The Book of Obedience”, Chapter 1: “There is No Salvation Without Personal Submission to the Pope”).

Thank you for this T.A. McMahon and Dave Hunt

Years ago I had a man write in and scorn me for daring to say anything against contemplative prayer. (I’d mentioned that some of the mystics who really made a name for themselves were Catholic nuns.)

If you’re Catholic, do you agree with this?  If you do, please tell me why you do.  I found what St. Catherine of Siena said to be  disturbing to say the least.

Published by: annunk

I have seen too many believers in Christ falling into the trap of practicing "Christianized New Age" and still calling it holy. Contemplative prayer is nothing more ( or less) than TM. Totally unscriptural. I encourage anyone who's interested in knowing the truth of God's word to dig in daily and SEARCH - be like the Bereans - FIND OUT if the teachings, messages, books you've read or radio speakers you've heard are dissecting God's word correctly. If they're not, throw out what you've heard. Trash it. God demands we STUDY to show ourselves approved. BE a Berean. Acts 17: 10-11

Categories IHOPTags, 8 Comments

8 thoughts on “THIS is obedience?”

  1. Matthew 16:18-19

    18 And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the powers of death shall not prevail against it.
    19 I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.”

    The question isn’t how much you distrust satan? The question is how much do you trust God?

  2. Please don’t argue the Greek, little rock, big rock, Jesus spoke Aramaic, rock is rock. Which is what Jesus renamed Simon from their first meeting.

  3. Psalms 23:1-6

    1 A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want;
    2 he makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters;
    3 he restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
    4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.
    5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of my enemies; thou anointest my head with oil, my cup overflows.
    6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

  4. If God sees fit to put Satan at the head of his church, as the Shepard of 1.1 billion souls. All of which have baptized into his body. To prove his absolute omnipotence, power and glory. So be it. I recommend reading 1 Kings 18. God makes things seem impossible, because God does the impossible.

  5. Matthew 14:31

    31 Jesus immediately reached out his hand and caught him, saying to him, “O man of little faith, why did you doubt?”

  6. Now about contemplative prayer…

    Romans 14:14

    14 I know and am persuaded in the Lord Jesus that nothing is unclean in itself; but it is unclean for any one who thinks it unclean.

    Contemplative Christian prayer should not be confused with some other form of contemplative prayer. Once touched by Christ all can become clean.

    Luke 5:13

    13 And he stretched out his hand, and touched him, saying, “I will; be clean.” And immediately the leprosy left him.

Leave a Reply

