Remember the movie, ‘Ghost’? Because THIS is a true story.

Even unbelievers recognize there’s a Heaven and there’s a Hell. But ‘Ghost’ was just a movie so that’s just make believe, right?

In 1985 I was with my mother in law as she laid in her hospital bed, dying with cancer. I had many times witnessed to her, trying to tell her how much God loved her – so much that he allowed his son to die for her so that she could be forgiven for her sins – but she would have nothing to do with it. Then as time went by, her condition steadily went downhill. She finally had to be taken to the local hospital.

On that night, one other relative and I were in her room with her, standing at the foot of her bed. The rest of the family, not knowing she was that close to going, had left saying they’d return in the morning. She had been unconscious for several hours when at 12:30 a.m. she suddenly opened her eyes very wide and appeared to be looking straight thru us at waist level. Her facial expression was one I’ll never forget. She looked terrified – absolutely terrified. Her mouth opened but she didn’t make a sound. Suddenly, her chest went up, down, up, down. A sudden, final expiratory breath – and she was gone.

Fifteen years later, in 2000 I was at another relative’s death bed. This woman knew the Lord Jesus and tried to share His love with everyone she had ever met. She was also in the hospital and we’d all been called in to say our goodbyes. She was unable to speak due to her illness and was only awake a few minutes. When she was awake, however, she smiled at whomever was at her bedside. Not long after we arrived she drifted off to sleep. Again, not realizing she was that close, all the family had left for the night.

My husband and I were still there, at her bedside. I had just turned off most of the lights when she opened her eyes. She was looking up. It was as though she was looking straight thru the ceiling. Her face was just beaming a radiant smile! Then, her hands, down at her side, began making gestures – as if she was trying to motion to whomever it was to “come here, come here”. My husband and I, seeing this agreed, she was seeing Jesus. It was a wonderful, uplifting event I will never forget. After a couple minutes she drifted back to sleep. About six hours later, she very gently passed away.

Looking back on both of these events, I know what I saw was real. I know that what I saw was God Himself showing me – saying, “This is the way people enter Heaven, and this is the way they enter Hell.” I’ve seen the expression on the faces of people going to both places. How did that old commercial go, “It’s the next best thing to being there”? I remember knowing that I was in the presence of the Lord and the other time, knowing that I was in the presence of evil.

About annunk

I have seen too many believers in Christ falling into the trap of practicing "Christianized New Age" and still calling it holy. Contemplative prayer is nothing more ( or less) than TM. Totally unscriptural. I encourage anyone who's interested in knowing the truth of God's word to dig in daily and SEARCH - be like the Bereans - FIND OUT if the teachings, messages, books you've read or radio speakers you've heard are dissecting God's word correctly. If they're not, throw out what you've heard. Trash it. God demands we STUDY to show ourselves approved. BE a Berean. Acts 17: 10-11

Posted on October 22, 2011, in IHOP and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

