Joel O! You CAN build a crowd without building a church.

Does Joel Osteen Not Know, or Does He Not Care?

Article: Unbiblical Christianity

Here we go again. Joel Osteen is in the news once again, this time for saying that Mormonism is just another form of Christianity. Osteen, pastor of “America’s largest church,” as the media repeat over and over, was speaking to The Washington Times in an interview that covered a variety of issues. It was the quintessential Joel on display.

Speaking to the newspaper on Monday, Osteen said, “I see faith in America at an all-time high.” His comments came just as a major research project detailed a significant loss of vitality in America’s Christian congregations. That loss of vitality can be traced, among other things, to a loss of theological and biblical conviction. Joel, of course, is proof positive that you can build a crowd without building a church. He is not inclined to deal in much theological conviction.

On Mormonism, Joel said: “I believe that [Mormons] are Christians. … I don’t know if it’s the purest form of Christianity, like I grew up with. But you know what, I know Mormons. I hear Mitt Romney – and I’ve never met him – but I hear him say, ‘I believe Jesus is the son of God,’ ‘I believe he’s my savior,’ and that’s one of the core issues.

“I’m sure there are other issues that we don’t agree on. But you know, I can say that the Baptists and the Methodists and the Catholics don’t all agree on everything. So that would be my take on it.”

The main point of concern in Joel’s latest comment is the lack of any biblical standard of judgment and the total abdication of theological responsibility. He relegates doctrinal disagreements between Christians and Mormons to the status of theological debates between Protestant denominations and then includes Roman Catholicism. There are plenty of issues there, and the issues are not the same when comparing Baptists to Methodists, on the one hand, and Protestants and Roman Catholics, on the other. Comparing any form of Trinitarian orthodoxy with Mormonism is another class of question altogether.

By now, it is clear that Joel Osteen’s carelessness is deliberate and calculated. This is not the first time that he has encountered the question of Mormonism. Back in 2007, he told Chris Wallace of FOX News that Mormons are indeed Christians: “Well, in my mind they are. Mitt Romney has said that he believes in Christ as his savior, and that’s what I believe, so, you know, I’m not the one to judge the little details of it. So I believe they are.”

In a remarkable exchange with Chris Wallace, Osteen muddied the waters further:

WALLACE: So, for instance, when people start talking about Joseph Smith, the founder of the church, and the golden tablets in upstate New York, and God assumes the shape of a man, do you not get hung up in those theological issues?

OSTEEN: I probably don’t get hung up in them because I haven’t really studied them or thought about them. And you know, I just try to let God be the judge of that. I mean, I don’t know.

Read Full Article…. Please check out UnderstandtheTimes.org

My note:

Even MORMONS know they are not Christians.  To them, this is a no brainer.  I have witnessed to and spoken with many of them.  The only way that you, a Christian, would  truly believe in your heart that their beliefs are just like yours, would be if you were totally ignorant of Mormon beliefs lined up against God’s Word.

About annunk

I have seen too many believers in Christ falling into the trap of practicing "Christianized New Age" and still calling it holy. Contemplative prayer is nothing more ( or less) than TM. Totally unscriptural. I encourage anyone who's interested in knowing the truth of God's word to dig in daily and SEARCH - be like the Bereans - FIND OUT if the teachings, messages, books you've read or radio speakers you've heard are dissecting God's word correctly. If they're not, throw out what you've heard. Trash it. God demands we STUDY to show ourselves approved. BE a Berean. Acts 17: 10-11

Posted on November 8, 2011, in IHOP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So where are the Mormons to refute you? They tend to show up any time a blog says they aren’t Christians. I’m surprised this post has been up so long without a complaint!

  2. rhonda britten

    jackie alnor wrote expose regarding j. osteen few years back (years could be longer).
    also, InPlainSite/Sight.org has some great posts.
    What about the Trinity Foundation in Dallas, TX (Wittenburg Door)

  3. I’ve expected Mormons to hop on board when their comments but I expect they’re feeling rather powerful with Mitt running for the presidency (and looking as though he’s got a good shot at it). After all, when millions and millions of $$$ to toss in the ring, it’s looking rather promising for the guy at this point in time.

    However (!) let’s not ever forget that the Lord promised us things would get very, VERY bad prior to His return so ‘ol Mitt being in office would fit right into that prophecy wouldn’t it.

  4. This might help!

    Easter Sunday believe CBS Morning Magazine highlighted Joel Osteen 2016, interesting interview. Remember years ago was watching him on Larry King and friends were calling about Mr. King gave Joel the OPPORTUNITY to give the total Salvation Message and he couldn’t do it (and people still bring that up to me, wow). My friend likes him because he preaches such a positive message in a negative world; which another friend calls it greasy grace gospel. So many dead men like him in the pulpit, so sad. “Joel Osteen: the Prosperity Gospel’s Cowboy by Jackie Alnor, 2003. Christian Sentinel”. I’m trying to research AOG (assemblies of god) movement and to find out if their founder(s) wasn’t Mormon because they behave the same way on works and performance. I found out by accident a famous Christian College was founded by Mormon, hmmm. We are not researching who founded our churches and or the foundations of pastor the total History (Ive been just as guilty, showing up and attending churches and not questioning, so sad).
    Personally, I wish we had armies of Leonard Ravenhill’s, Holy Men/Women that will bare the corrupt church /leadership confront and expose.

  5. Years ago, I remember visiting Lakewood church since I lived in the area. At that time John O Steen was the pastor. Keep in mind it was a word of faith church so there was a lot of name it and claim it going on, but I have no clue where Joel came up with a lot of what he’s preaching today, which is basically the “work your way to heaven” theme. (Also a very popular thought in the Mormon faith!) LOL
    So to your thoughts? Agreed.

Leave a Reply

