Breath Prayers

I listened to an associate pastor at church past Sunday as our regular pastor was away out of town.  About two minutes into his message, I heard him say, “breath prayers”, and I suddenly felt a very choking, dark presence almost making me vomit.  Then I heard myself praying for those in the auditorium. I heard myself asking the Holy Spirit to place a guard around their hearts.

The atmosphere became even worse as the speaker began giving instructions as to “how to enter in” via slowed breathing, and using verbalized repetition of a scripture, bible word or thought “about God” (mantra).  Then he said, “Let’s ALL begin this now.” Suddenly the lights were lowered, the speaker left the stage.

About three or four minutes of dead silence followed.

“I” wanted to stand up and say something – anything!  But the Holy Spirit held me in my seat, having me, instead, PRAY for all the people in that place – asking God’s protection to be placed in and around them.

Then the service was over. (Let me note here that my spouse was doing the same thing I was.)

Immediately following service we got with this associate pastor. After finding an empty room we told him the truth about what he had just preached on.  We told him all about contemplative prayer and its eastern origin – of it actually being TM.  Then I told him,” I noticed you didn’t use any scriptures to back up your breath prayers.”  He admitted there were none, but still insisted breath prayers were godly ways of speaking to God.  It was at this point that he began to stand up… i.e. the meeting was over.

My spouse and I have not yet joined this church.  (Think that may not be a coincidence?)

Jesus taught his disciples to pray beginning with, “Our Father in heaven”.  This is completely opposite from transcendental meditation (TM). TM, however, does begin with a focus on controlled breathing.

Many people despise God because He has not made them the master of their fate, the captain of their soul or rulers of their own destiny.  Breath prayers, contemplative prayer, TM (ALL the same thing), do however, give that feeling of being in total control.

The disciples were instructed to pray, “Deliver us from evil”.  Breath prayers don’t require that at all.  Shouldn’t that be a red flag to believers? Let’s face it. We seldom want to be delivered from temptation. It promises too much fun! That right there should be the perfect explanation for why Christians are falling into the trap of breath prayers, contemplative prayers, centering prayers etc.  All it is is Christianized transcendental meditation. It FEELS so good.

Christianity is being conned into believing a lie. Pray that fellow believers in Christ will not believe this lie. Pray that they will not be deceived like the person I listened to last Sunday. God forgive him.

Amen.

About annunk

I have seen too many believers in Christ falling into the trap of practicing "Christianized New Age" and still calling it holy. Contemplative prayer is nothing more ( or less) than TM. Totally unscriptural. I encourage anyone who's interested in knowing the truth of God's word to dig in daily and SEARCH - be like the Bereans - FIND OUT if the teachings, messages, books you've read or radio speakers you've heard are dissecting God's word correctly. If they're not, throw out what you've heard. Trash it. God demands we STUDY to show ourselves approved. BE a Berean. Acts 17: 10-11

Posted on September 27, 2012, in Contemplative Prayer, cult, False prophets, IHOP, Mike Bickle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. More and more wolves/tares are leading the ‘Church’. It’s a sign of the Apostasy, and, more importantly, a sign that He will return soon!

  2. I 100% agree with you. I also believe that we ain’t seen nothin’ yet…

  3. I know that contemplative prayer is irrational and repetitious. Real prayer is directed to the throne of God’s grace through Jesus our High Priest.If it be praise, thanksgiving, confession of sin, or making requests it uses words that have content and are specific and not an endless rosary like mantra. Since the Catholic Church can’t.win people to her side by bloody persecution, She tries to win people over by contemplative, repetitious, mind-emptying sounds or syllables. Evangelicals and Protestants should be more discerning..

  4. I’m always amazed that teachers of contemplative prayer can NEVER site scripture(s) taken IN CONTEXT on which to base it, but instead, mention “the early church” (300 AD) or site Cathoics such as Thomas Merton, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Merton who openly states he learned contemplative from Buddist monks AND wanted to be the best Buddist he could be!

    We need to be more and more like the Bereans and search the scriptures DAILY to see if these teachings line up with the word of God or not.

  5. these people call this a glory cloud they think its a manifestation of Christ, its cosmetic hexagon glitter ,this has been proven, but they still believe (video link below). This is sweeping the movement. This simple trick of deception is at the doorstep of IHOP. The youth at IHOP mite buy into this. I fear I will no longer have compassion for them, I can not sit by and simply blog ,if these mediums of the occult enter and are accepted by IHOP, there will only be one thing that will save us all from this pending danger. Me must take down IHOP and lead the flock back to the Lord. I fear at that point only extreme measures (like the ones of Bickle) will be effective. The youth of today have grown up around so much misery and death that they will latch on to anything. We have only seen the beginning. Stop arguing over scripture we must unite to stop a large scale tragedy. To everyone involved with blogging and investigation on IHOP’s deception, Your work is done why keep arguing? follow me on twitter @shawn35null IHOP has allegedly hacked a forum exposing them, don’t worry. Scientology found out the hard way. We are watching you, we will not forget, expect us…………..Anonymous…………………I have been in touch this group whether you believe in their purpose or not can and will help us, they have brought down governments in Egypt by resurrecting the internet after a government shutdown of ALL the servers, a DDOS attack is imminent if IHOPS foolish wannabee hackers violate another internet law in the name of secrecy and malice. God Bless please consider this greatly.
    Sincerly, nullifly onthewall

    Glory Cloud Rises At Bethel Church
    http://www.youtube.com
    This glittery substance appears at Bethel Church In Redding, Ca. Up from the floor it rises up out of nowhere out of thin air. Standing underneath the

  6. Coming to an IHOP near you-“The Glory Cloud”

  7. Update on my church situation: I received word from a church elder, that I am not alone on my concerns about the repetitiveness used in ‘worship’. Was recently told, “This is not a good thing at all and we’re not going to go this direction.”

    This is a welcomed news. To date, my spouse and I are still at this church.

  8. Annunk, please be careful, I attend Ihop and am really concerned. It will get worse. People need to here the truth from people they will listen to, other members. Join me, help me help the seduced. We do not have to expose ourselves to do this. This has been in preparation for 3 weeks. There will also be an Anonymous peaceful protest to inform starting Nov. 22. It is our right yo remain Anonymous, this is to save lives. I have done this. I will promise nobody will know our identity unless we choose to show them

  9. Annunk- We can not forget the Murder of Bethany Ann Deaton and the admitted proven ties to the church and IHOPU ,kctv5 at 10:00 tonight it will be on their website shortly. ” Tyler Deaton was having sex with the 5 roommates and told me to kill his wife” -Micah Moore. He is Charged with fist degree murder ,open investigations on other members and leaders. This is a sad time Bethany would want the truth to be known. God bless, Annunk.

  10. Hi Sean,

    I’ve waited to approve your comments as I didn’t know if you wanted your name and email address published on line. Actually, they approved automatically, since I’ve approved you before, but I removed them.

    What do you want going public on my blog and what did you need me to contact you about? Are you STILL at IHOP?

    Ann

Leave a Reply

